The Secret Keepers
The Secret Keepers
prev 5 of 10 next
Trenton Lee Stewart, illus. by Diana Sudyka
ISBN 9780316389556
Little Brown & Co, 2016.
5 stars
Keywords: 8-12 ages secret-keepers trenton-lee-stewart

The Secret Keepers
by Trenton Lee Stewart, illus. by Diana Sudyka

Trenton Lee Stewart, the author of The Mysterious Benedict Society, returns with a long-awaited new novel for kids called The Secret Keepers. As a testament to the popularity of The Mysterious Benedict Society series, the series has sold over 2.5 million books. Stewart’s books are for children who like mysteries and riddles, and there are many scenes where readers hold their breath in suspense. Much like The Mysterious Benedict Society, The Secret Keepers has an eclectic cast of characters, the book is just as mysterious, just as exciting, and just as fun to read.

 

The Secret Keepers is for children ages 8 to 12. Readers will find a hero in Reuben Pedley, a kid who has a proclivity for climbing walls and walking on dangerous ledges 10 stories off the ground. It is during one of these expeditions high up above street level that Reuben discovers a pocket watch hidden behind crumbling bricks. How did it get there? Who does it belong to? And why are the clock’s hands stuck at twelve? Once Reuben narrowly escapes falling off the ledge (and descends by climbing down a drainpipe) he knows that his discovery of the secret pocket watch is a mystery waiting to be solved.

 

“It seemed like the end of an adventure, and yet somehow Reuben knew—he just knew—it was only the beginning.”

 

Who are the secret keepers? Follow Reuben as he embarks on the adventure of a lifetime. Fans of The HobbitThe Lord of the Rings, and The Mysterious Benedict Society will enjoy this book.


This review originally appeared at The Clarion Ledger.  

 

purchase in indiebound purchase in amazon purchase in barnes_noble
Join Newsletter